Riverside County DUI Laws Riverside County DUI Defense Riverside County DUI Lawyers

Riverside County Drunk Driving

Riverside County DMV

About the California DMV

The California Department of Motor Vehicles registers approximately 33 million vehicles throughout California and governs driver’s licenses for about 23 million drivers.

Other important functions of the DMV include:

  • Recording ownership (certificate of title) of the vehicles DMV registers
  • Maintaining driving records (accidents and convictions) of licensed drivers
  • Issuing I.D. cards for individuals
  • Registering and recording ownership of vessels
  • Licensing and regulating driving and traffic violator schools and their instructors
  • Licensing and regulating vehicle manufacturers, transporters, dealers, distributors, vehicle salespeople, and vehicle dismantlers
  • Administering the Financial Responsibility Law
  • Investigating consumer complaints
  • Maintaining records in accordance with the law

The California DMV collects approximately $6.5 billion in revenues annually.

The Califonia Department of Motor Vehicles is basically governed by the Vehicle Code of California. Among the code are laws pertaining to individuals arrested for DUI-DWI. These laws entitle the DMV to ascertain specific control over the driving privileges of an individual who has been arrested and charged with driving under the influence or DUI.

The DMV will immediately be notified when a licensed California driver is arrested for DUI-DWI. The DMV will then seek an administrative suspension or revocation of that person’s driver’s license within 10 days of the arrest, unless the DUI suspect contests their action. This is commonly known as the “10 day rule.”

Administrative hearings are conducted in a Riverside County, California are actually conducted at the San Bernardino County DMV Driver Safety Office.

Out of State Drivers

While out-of-state drivers arrested for suspicion of DUI-DWI in California cannot have their licensed revoked by the California DMV, their privileges to drive in California can be suspended. The DMV will also notify the licensing state about the DUI-DWI arrest through the interstate Driver’s License Compact. Exceptions to the compact include Wisconsin, Tennessee, Georgia, Massachusetts, and Michigan.

Out-of-state drivers must also schedule a DMV hearing. If they do not attend a DUI DMV hearing or do not win their hearing, the licensing state may suspend the driver’s license.

RiversideCountyDUIinformation.com is an informational website provided by a top Riverside County DUI lawyer to help those charged with drunk driving in these Riverside County cities: Banning, Beaumont, Blythe, Calimesa, Cathedral City, Coachella, Corona, Desert Hot Springs, Hemet, Indian Wells, Indio, La Quinta, Lake, Lake Elsinore, Moreno Valley, Murrieta, Norco, Palm Desert, Palm Springs, Perris, Rancho Mirage, Riverside, San Jacinto and Temecula.