Riverside County DUI Laws Riverside County DUI Defense Riverside County DUI Lawyers

Riverside County Drunk Driving

What to Expect

If you are pulled over in Riverside County and the law enforcement officer suspects that you are drinking and driving you will likely be asked a series of questions. You have the right to politely decline to answer and offer that you will talk to your lawyer prior to answering any questions. If the officer suspects that you are over the legal limit of .08% BAC he may ask you to perform a series of Field Sobriety Tests. There may only be one or a series of activities that he asks you to complete roadside prior to the arrest. These are used as probable cause or reasonable grounds for arrest. These are not required to be completed. California operates under an implied consent law where all people licensed to California give their implied consent to submit to a chemical blood alcohol test after being arrested for a Riverside DUI. This does means that you do not have to submit to a PAS (Preliminary Alcohol Screening) which is a breath test administered as the final Field Sobriety Test to help the officer determine whether to place the drunk driving suspect under arrest.

After Arrest for a Riverside County DUI

An officer will place a suspected drunk driver under arrest based on a number of factors. The arresting officer will take into account the vehicle code that was violated, the nature of the speech of the suspected drunk driver, his or her demeanor, any physical signs of intoxication and performance on field sobriety tests if given. All of these factors will be used as probable cause to make the arrest. Most of these presumptions are rebuttable since a number of other factors could account for a person’s slow speech or red eyes. Namely the fact that most Riverside DUI arrests happen in the late hours of the evening or early hours of the morning and driver’s are naturally tired and would likely show signs of exhaustion.

Will I go to jail after a conviction for a Riverside DUI-DWI?

While jail is a potential consequence of a Riverside drunk driving conviction, it is not necessarily the only option. A skilled River DUI attorney can suggest a number of alternatives to mandatory minimum jail sentencing. In Riverside, the court will generally allow a person to complete a house arrest in lieu of jail. That means that through electronic monitoring you will not be allowed to leave except for necessities such as going to the grocery store. In addition, you will generally get credit for the night in jail resulting from the arrest. While an experienced Riverside DUI Defense Attorney will most likely be able to keep you out of jail, ultimately it is up to the judge. For this reason, it is imperative to hire representation local to the Riverside County area who knows the judges and district attorneys and can work well with them under all circumstances.

What happens to my license after an arrest for a Riverside County DUI?

Upon release from arrest of a Riverside DUI you will be given a temporary license. The temporary license gives full driving privileges until its expiration 30 days later. The temporary license also states that you have 10 days to contact the San Bernardino DMV to schedule an APS hearing or your license will be suspended on the expiration of the temporary license. Generally first a first time Riverside DUI offense the suspension is 4 months and after 1 month of no driving a driver can apply for a restricted license which allows him or her to drive during the course of work and to and from an alcohol treatment program. In order to receive the restricted license you must submit an SR-22 financial responsibility form from your insurance carrier which proves coverage, pay $125 re-issue fee and enroll in a 3 month AB-541 alcohol treatment program. The restricted license will be in effect for 5 months, however if you choose to do a hard suspension of no driving you will be eligible for full driving privileges after 4 months.

If I am arrested for a Riverside DUI do I need to hire an attorney?

Whether your concern is staying out of jail or keeping your license as long as possible a practiced Riverside DUI Defense Lawyer can help. A local attorney will know how to apply for a restricted license and which judges to ask for more lenient sentences. Most attorneys will not charge simply for a consultation in a Riverside DUI so it is recommended that you speak to an attorney immediately following arrest.

More Information:

Riverside County Law Enforcement
DUI Schools
What to Ask a DUI Lawyer

RiversideCountyDUIinformation.com is an informational website provided by a top Riverside County DUI lawyer to help those charged with drunk driving in these Riverside County cities: Banning, Beaumont, Blythe, Calimesa, Cathedral City, Coachella, Corona, Desert Hot Springs, Hemet, Indian Wells, Indio, La Quinta, Lake, Lake Elsinore, Moreno Valley, Murrieta, Norco, Palm Desert, Palm Springs, Perris, Rancho Mirage, Riverside, San Jacinto and Temecula.